It’s a Wrap: TdF 2012

Well, another Tour has come and gone. I missed having any “deep thoughts” for the last few stages, but here are some thoughts as we mull over the race we just left and look forward to the races on the horizon.

There are some who have nothing good to say about this race. There are others who have only good things to say about this race. Myself, I have pretty mixed feelings about this race. As happy as I am to see Nibali on the podium, it’s all a bit bittersweet, what with how everything went down. I was simultaneously elated and frustrated by Nibali’s attempts to break Wiggins and Sky- I was happy to see him try, but frustrated by Sky’s strength that would never let him succeed. I was disappointed it wasn’t more of battle for yellow, but I’m happy to see Wiggins in yellow (despite how it may seem!).

Another part of my dissatisfaction was that on the surface, it was a pretty boring race. The same team controlled the yellow jersey for 2 weeks and even the battle for the other jerseys wasn’t much. However, there was still plenty of drama if you looked beyond the action on the road. But this drama wasn’t “fun” drama- it was stress inducing drama (at least for me!) There was perceived Wiggins/Froome tension on team Sky; doping dramas with Cofidis and Frank Schleck; tacks; debates about Tejay’s “abandonment” of Cadel; Rolland’s attack of the peloton; Twitter drama; overzealous Wiggins/Sky fans attacking anyone who dared speak ill words; Wiggin’s infamous use of the “c” word, etc. So, yes, the parcours was boring. Yes, Sky controlled the race with an iron fist. Yes, the podium was decided days and days before the final TT. But the Tour is so much more than just the race. As Jeff has said over and over, it’s more than just what’s going on the road. It’s also about what surrounds the race. And while what was happening on the road was pretty boring, what was happening off the course was anything but. And I’m not sure that drama really helped me enjoy the race any more.

As the Tour finished, I can’t say I had positive feelings overall. I was frustrated by Nibali’s brave, but ultimately unsuccessful, bids to displace Wiggins and Froome. I was worn out from defending my dislike of Sky/Wiggins to those on Twitter who thought I was wrong. I was shocked by all the vitriol and insanity I saw from normally sane people. I was disappointed by the lack of respect many people had on Twitter for others. While I will remember this Tour, I think I will remember it for all the wrong reasons.

Posted on July 26, 2012, in commentary, Tour de France and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

